Posted by: hongpa | December 1, 2007

The Art of Revision

               Revision to me simply meant changing and fixing my drafts in order to “make it sound better”. However, Sommers opens up an entire new perspective to revision treating it as a crucial step of writing. Sommers quoted, “It is deeply satisfying to believe that we are not locked into our original statements, that we might start and stop, erase, use the delete key in life, and be saved from the roughness of our earlier drafts.” Writing allows us to express ourselves in our individual, unique ways that directly represents our feelings. Sommers talks about the importance of our individuality during the revision stage of our writings and the dangers of being completely influenced by outside opinions. Writing should represent our selves alone and no one else’s.  It allows us to express our own ideas in a form that should be genuine, personal, and restrained from outside influence.

                When I write I allow the words to just flow out of my mind onto the paper or monitor until I have allowed my thoughts cease. Then I go back and revise by fixing errors and word choice. After hearing Sommer’s views on revision, I have not been revising at all; I have simply been simply editing my own paper. Sommers talks about how revision does not always improve the paper and I completely agree. I believe that sometimes no matter how many times you change the words around, you can never perfectly describe your ideas. That’s why when I allow my thoughts to flow onto paper my first instincts describe my thoughts as effectively as possible. When I write I try to trust my instincts and sometimes revision is not necessary. Of course my writing is not even near perfect but who but myself can force revision? Sommers approached this topic with a very open mind and I agree with the flexibility of revision. Our brains being even more flexible, we can use revision in any way necessary to fit the needs of our writing.


Leave a comment

Categories